Skip to content
AirfryerHQ

Basket air fryer

Philips Essential Airfryer HD9252/91 4.1L

Model HD9252/91 (also HD9252) United Kingdom, European Union

The plain single-basket Philips, and the first one in this catalogue — which matters because Philips originated the category and the catalogue held only its oven-shaped XXL.

AirfryerHQ is an independent information site. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to any appliance manufacturer. Product and brand names are used descriptively to identify appliances readers own, and belong to their respective owners.

Where to get real advice for this machine

Almost everything that changes a cooking answer is a property of the architecture rather than the badge. This is a basket air fryer, and the Basket air fryer page carries the cooking guidance that actually applies to it.

This is the baseline every cooking page on AirfryerHQ is written for. Times and temperatures are stated for a single layer in a drawer of this kind, so no adjustment applies. The one thing worth knowing about it is that the usable area is much smaller than the advertised litres suggest — the depth is mostly headroom, and food still has to go in one layer.

Does it genuinely air-fry?

Genuine air frying

Genuine. A perforated basket sits inside a drawer with the element and fan directly above, fat drains into the pan below, and the published table reaches 200°C. A 4.1-litre drawer recovers temperature quickly after loading. This is the reference implementation of the architecture every cooking page in this product is written against.

  • Air moves fast, not just around
  • Air reaches every surface of the food
  • Recovers temperature quickly after loading
  • Fat and moisture drain away
  • Reaches genuine browning temperatures

What we know about this machine

Read from Philips Essential Airfryer HD9252/91 4.1L — User Manual (PDF), retrieved on 2026-08-13.

It has a single cooking drawer, so everything in it cooks at one temperature for one time. On preheating: comes up to temperature quickly. It is sold as 4.1 litres, which measures the whole drawer including the space above the food that you must not fill.

The figures above are the manufacturer’s. What they mean for cooking is AirfryerHQ’s reading of them, not a measurement — nobody here has run this machine.

Size and capacity

Advertised capacity
4.1 litresA volume, not a cooking area.

Setup and cleaning

Cooking zones
1
Preheating
Comes up to temperature quickly

In the manual’s own words: The manual states, in a highlighted note above the food table: "Preheating of the appliance is not necessary." It is the least equivocal position on preheating any manufacturer in this catalogue takes, and the same sentence appears in the manual for the larger model.

Retrieved from Argos's manual library for Argos product 284/9317.

11 figures we could not establish

Each of these says WHY it is missing. “Not recorded by the sources consulted” means the manufacturer does not publish it in the document we read — not that nobody looked, and not that the figure does not exist.

Usable cooking area
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published. Nominal litres is not usable area.
Chamber
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
On the worktop
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
Weight
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
Power
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not printed in the text layer of the manual read — see the file header.
Power range as published
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
Temperature range
Not recorded by the sources consulted — No overall range is stated. The food table uses 150-200°C, which is a set of used values rather than a published span.
Adjusts in
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated.
Standby power
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published by this manufacturer. Only one model in this catalogue publishes a standby figure at all.
Dishwasher safe
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated in the copy read.
Supplied with
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not itemised in the copy read.

What each setting actually does

Read from the manual. The marketing name is what is printed on the panel; the canonical capability is what the mode is in generic terms, so a reader can find advice written for somebody else’s appliance.

On the panelCanonicallyStarts atSettable rangePreheat
Frozen potato based snacksAir fry180°C, 22 minAdjustable, range not publishedNot stated
Fresh friesAir fry180°C, 26 minAdjustable, range not publishedNot stated
Chicken drumsticksAir fry180°C, 24 minAdjustable, range not publishedNot stated
Fish filetAir fry160°C, 23 minAdjustable, range not publishedNot stated
MuffinsBake180°C, 13 minAdjustable, range not publishedNot stated
  • Frozen potato based snacks: Published with a maximum weight of 500g, which is rare — most preset tables give a time and a temperature and no quantity at all.
  • Fresh fries: Maximum 500g, with a published preparation: mealy potatoes cut 10x10mm, soaked thirty minutes, dried, then a quarter to one tablespoon of oil.
  • Chicken drumsticks: Maximum 750g, up to six drumsticks.
  • Fish filet: Maximum 600g, for fillets around 200g.
  • Muffins: 50g per muffin, seven in one go.

Error codes and display states

Only what this manufacturer publishes, and only for this manufacturer. A code means whatever the firmware author decided it means, and reading one across from another brand is the commonest way to misdiagnose a fault.

AirfryerHQ does not hold this code for this manufacturer. That is a statement about this catalogue and not about your appliance: most manufacturers publish no code table at all, and a code's meaning is specific to the firmware that produced it. Do not read a meaning across from another brand — check your own manual, and contact the manufacturer if it is not in there.

Cleaning this model

The parts this architecture has, what collects on each, and what its own manual permits. Full methods and prohibitions are on the cleaning pages.

Every part, what collects on it, how often it needs doing, and whether it may go in a dishwasher on the models AirfryerHQ holds manuals for.
PartWhat is on itHow oftenDishwasher
BasketOrdinary residue after cookingAfter every useDishwasher safe on the models we hold
BasketBurnt-on residueWhen it needs itDepends on your model — check the manual
BasketOrdinary residue after cookingAfter every useDepends on your model — check the manual
BasketStuck foodWhen it needs itDepends on your model — check the manual
Crisper plateLooking after the coatingWhen it needs itDepends on your model — check the manual
DrawerGreasy filmAfter every useDishwasher safe on the models we hold
Interior of the chamberGreasy filmAfter every useNot removable, so the question does not arise
Interior of the chamberGreasy filmAbout weeklyNot removable, so the question does not arise
Interior of the chamberLingering smellWhen it needs itNot removable, so the question does not arise
Heating element areaCarbonised depositAbout monthlyNot removable, so the question does not arise
Fan and air intakeGreasy filmAbout monthlyNot removable, so the question does not arise
Exterior and bodyGreasy filmAbout weeklyNot removable, so the question does not arise
Controls and displayGreasy filmAbout weeklyNot removable, so the question does not arise

The manual warns never to use light ingredients or baking paper in the appliance — a flat prohibition on parchment, which several other manufacturers permit conditionally. It also instructs that potatoes should not be stored below 6°C, to limit acrylamide when they are later fried.

Replaceable parts

AirfryerHQ holds no part records for Philips Essential Airfryer HD9252/91 4.1L. That is a statement about this catalogue rather than about the appliance: every air fryer has a basket and most have a crisper plate, and the manual read for this model does not enumerate them in a way we could record. What can be replaced, and what to ask for covers the general case, including where to find the model number a parts desk will ask you for.

Recall and safety status

No recall known to us at the review date

No entry for this model was found in the OPSS product safety register when it was searched for air fryers on 13 August 2026. That is a statement about that search and not a clearance.

No verified recall or safety notice is currently recorded in AirfryerHQ for this appliance. That is a statement about this catalogue and not about the product: AirfryerHQ holds a small number of checked alerts and is not a copy of the UK register. Check the authority's own register before concluding that an appliance is unaffected.

The Office for Product Safety and Standards publishes the UK register of product safety alerts, reports and recalls on GOV.UK, and Electrical Safety First operates a recall checker for electrical appliances. Registering an appliance with its manufacturer is what makes a direct notification possible.

Finding the manual

The food table qualifies almost every row by a min-max quantity in grams or a piece count, which is what makes its figures checkable rather than decorative.

About this model

A 4.1-litre drawer machine with a mechanical-feeling digital panel and five presets. Its food table is the most complete published guidance for an ordinary basket air fryer in this catalogue, and its highlighted note that preheating is not necessary is one of the two clearest manufacturer positions on the highest-volume technique question in the domain.

Owning this machine

The questions that come after the cooking.