Basket air fryer
Cookworks 5L Digital Air Fryer KDF-596D
Model KDF-596D — United Kingdom
A retailer own-brand 5-litre basket machine that publishes a default temperature and a default time for every one of its ten presets.
AirfryerHQ is an independent information site. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to any appliance manufacturer. Product and brand names are used descriptively to identify appliances readers own, and belong to their respective owners.
Where to get real advice for this machine
Almost everything that changes a cooking answer is a property of the architecture rather than the badge. This is a basket air fryer, and the Basket air fryer page carries the cooking guidance that actually applies to it.
This is the baseline every cooking page on AirfryerHQ is written for. Times and temperatures are stated for a single layer in a drawer of this kind, so no adjustment applies. The one thing worth knowing about it is that the usable area is much smaller than the advertised litres suggest — the depth is mostly headroom, and food still has to go in one layer.
Does it genuinely air-fry?
Genuine air frying
Genuine. A perforated frying tray sits inside a basket in a deep drawer with the element and fan above it, so air reaches every surface and fat drains below the food. The published ceiling of 200°C is inside the browning range, and a 5-litre drawer recovers temperature quickly after loading.
- Air moves fast, not just around
- Air reaches every surface of the food
- Recovers temperature quickly after loading
- Fat and moisture drain away
- Reaches genuine browning temperatures
What we know about this machine
Read from Cookworks 5L Digital Air Fryer KDF-596D — Care & Instruction Manual (PDF), retrieved on 2026-08-13.
It has a single cooking drawer, so everything in it cooks at one temperature for one time. It runs from 50°C to 200°C, and the low end is genuinely useful: it is enough to dehydrate, prove dough or hold food warm. On preheating: has a preheat programme. It is sold as 5 litres, which measures the whole drawer including the space above the food that you must not fill.
The figures above are the manufacturer’s. What they mean for cooking is AirfryerHQ’s reading of them, not a measurement — nobody here has run this machine.
Size and capacity
- Advertised capacity
- 5 litresA volume, not a cooking area.
Power and heat
- Temperature range
- 50–200°C
Setup and cleaning
- Cooking zones
- 1
- Preheating
- Has a preheat programme
- Dishwasher safe
- Frying tray, BasketEverything else is a hand-wash, and the main unit never goes in.
In the manual’s own words: A Preheat programme is published as one of the ten presets, at 180°C for three minutes. It is the only preheat in this catalogue with a stated duration on a drawer machine, and three minutes is a useful sanity check against the thirteen a countertop oven in this catalogue needs.
Retrieved from Argos's manual library for Argos product 148/6623.
9 figures we could not establish
Each of these says WHY it is missing. “Not recorded by the sources consulted” means the manufacturer does not publish it in the document we read — not that nobody looked, and not that the figure does not exist.
- Usable cooking area
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
- Chamber
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
- On the worktop
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
- Weight
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
- Power
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated in the specification panel of the copy read.
- Power range as published
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated.
- Adjusts in
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated.
- Standby power
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published by this manufacturer. Only one model in this catalogue publishes a standby figure at all.
- Supplied with
- Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not itemised in the manual read.
What each setting actually does
Read from the manual. The marketing name is what is printed on the panel; the canonical capability is what the mode is in generic terms, so a reader can find advice written for somebody else’s appliance.
| On the panel | Canonically | Starts at | Settable range | Preheat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fries | Air fry | 200°C, 18 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
| Meat | Air fry | 200°C, 12 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
| Drumsticks | Air fry | 200°C, 20 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
| Steak | Air fry | 180°C, 12 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
| Cake | Bake | 160°C, 25 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
| Shrimp | Air fry | 180°C, 8 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
| Fish | Air fry | 180°C, 10 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
| Pizza | Reheat | 180°C, 20 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
| Vegetables | Air fry | 160°C, 10 min | 50–200°C | Not stated |
- Cake: 160°C for cake, which is the figure four other manufacturers in this catalogue independently publish.
Error codes and display states
Only what this manufacturer publishes, and only for this manufacturer. A code means whatever the firmware author decided it means, and reading one across from another brand is the commonest way to misdiagnose a fault.
AirfryerHQ does not hold this code for this manufacturer. That is a statement about this catalogue and not about your appliance: most manufacturers publish no code table at all, and a code's meaning is specific to the firmware that produced it. Do not read a meaning across from another brand — check your own manual, and contact the manufacturer if it is not in there.
Cleaning this model
The parts this architecture has, what collects on each, and what its own manual permits. Full methods and prohibitions are on the cleaning pages.
| Part | What is on it | How often | Dishwasher |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basket | Ordinary residue after cooking | After every use | Dishwasher safe on the models we hold |
| Basket | Burnt-on residue | When it needs it | Depends on your model — check the manual |
| Basket | Ordinary residue after cooking | After every use | Depends on your model — check the manual |
| Basket | Stuck food | When it needs it | Depends on your model — check the manual |
| Crisper plate | Looking after the coating | When it needs it | Depends on your model — check the manual |
| Drawer | Greasy film | After every use | Dishwasher safe on the models we hold |
| Interior of the chamber | Greasy film | After every use | Not removable, so the question does not arise |
| Interior of the chamber | Greasy film | About weekly | Not removable, so the question does not arise |
| Interior of the chamber | Lingering smell | When it needs it | Not removable, so the question does not arise |
| Heating element area | Carbonised deposit | About monthly | Not removable, so the question does not arise |
| Fan and air intake | Greasy film | About monthly | Not removable, so the question does not arise |
| Exterior and body | Greasy film | About weekly | Not removable, so the question does not arise |
| Controls and display | Greasy film | About weekly | Not removable, so the question does not arise |
The frying tray and basket are stated to be dishwasher-proof. The manual warns that the frying tray stays dangerously hot for about thirty minutes after use and must be handled by the handle only.
Replaceable parts
AirfryerHQ holds no part records for Cookworks 5L Digital Air Fryer KDF-596D. That is a statement about this catalogue rather than about the appliance: every air fryer has a basket and most have a crisper plate, and the manual read for this model does not enumerate them in a way we could record. What can be replaced, and what to ask for covers the general case, including where to find the model number a parts desk will ask you for.
Recall and safety status
No recall known to us at the review date
No entry for this model was found in the OPSS product safety register when it was searched for air fryers on 13 August 2026. That is a statement about that search and not a clearance.
No verified recall or safety notice is currently recorded in AirfryerHQ for this appliance. That is a statement about this catalogue and not about the product: AirfryerHQ holds a small number of checked alerts and is not a copy of the UK register. Check the authority's own register before concluding that an appliance is unaffected.
The Office for Product Safety and Standards publishes the UK register of product safety alerts, reports and recalls on GOV.UK, and Electrical Safety First operates a recall checker for electrical appliances. Registering an appliance with its manufacturer is what makes a direct notification possible.
Finding the manual
The preset table is the whole value of this manual. It publishes what each button does, which almost no manufacturer does, and it publishes it as a starting point rather than as a validated cooking time for a stated quantity — a distinction the model page keeps.
About this model
An unremarkable machine with an unusually useful manual. Only three manuals in this catalogue publish a default temperature AND a default time AND a settable range for every programme, and this is one of them — which makes it the clearest available answer to the very common question of what a preset button actually does.
Owning this machine
The questions that come after the cooking.
- Looking after itFive minutes a week and one check a month, nearly all of it about grease.
- What to clean it withIncluding which tool every manufacturer in this catalogue prohibits.
- The coating, and when a basket is finishedThe part that decides how long this appliance lasts.
- Replacing a part, and what to ask forWhere the model and serial numbers are, and why no order code appears here.
- Accessories, and whether you need themWith the verdicts first and no affiliate links anywhere.
- Repair, replace, or stop using itThe symptoms that mean stop now, and the ones that mean a part.