Skip to content
AirfryerHQ

Built-in oven with an air-fry mode

Bosch built-in oven HBG934B.1 with Air Fry

Model HBG934B.1 United Kingdom, European Union

A built-in oven where Air Fry is a named heating function spanning 30–300°C, with its own accessory and its own rules — including do not preheat and do not use greaseproof paper.

AirfryerHQ is an independent information site. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to any appliance manufacturer. Product and brand names are used descriptively to identify appliances readers own, and belong to their respective owners.

Where to get real advice for this machine

Almost everything that changes a cooking answer is a property of the architecture rather than the badge. This is a built-in oven with an air-fry mode, and the Built-in oven with an air-fry mode page carries the cooking guidance that actually applies to it.

Treat published air-fryer times as a lower bound and expect to add 25–40%, or to use a higher temperature. The cavity is many times larger than a drawer, so air velocity at the food is far lower and thermal recovery after the door opens is slow. A perforated air-fry tray, if one was supplied, makes a real difference and a solid baking tray defeats the mode entirely. Most importantly: a full oven cavity does not concentrate airflow the way a small chamber does, so this mode narrows the gap to a fan oven rather than closing it.

Does it genuinely air-fry?

Partly — see the assessment

Assessed as partial, and the reasoning is the cavity rather than the function. Air Fry here is unambiguously a real, separately engineered mode: dedicated perforated accessory, single-level-only operation, explicit no-preheat instruction, and a prohibition on greaseproof paper on the stated grounds that air must circulate. Air reaching all surfaces and browning temperatures are met. What cannot be established from the manual is air VELOCITY at the food in a full-size cavity, and rapid thermal recovery is not met by an oven of this size. Without the velocity criterion the verdict cannot be `genuine`, and a reader should expect results between a fan oven and a drawer machine rather than equal to a drawer machine.

  • Air reaches every surface of the food
  • Reaches genuine browning temperatures

What we know about this machine

Read from Bosch built-in oven HBG934B.1 — Instruction manual (PDF) (revision 9001885350_A), retrieved on 2026-08-13.

It has a single cooking drawer, so everything in it cooks at one temperature for one time. It runs from 30°C to 260°C, and the low end is genuinely useful: it is enough to dehydrate, prove dough or hold food warm. On preheating: slow to come up to temperature — preheating matters.

The figures above are the manufacturer’s. What they mean for cooking is AirfryerHQ’s reading of them, not a measurement — nobody here has run this machine.

Power and heat

Temperature range
30–260°C

Setup and cleaning

Cooking zones
1
Preheating
Slow to come up to temperature — preheating matters
Supplied with
Air Fry tray (optional accessory on some models), Universal pan, Wire rack

In the manual’s own words: For Air Fry specifically, the manual instructs: do not preheat the oven. That is notable because a full-size cavity is the architecture where preheating would most be expected to matter, and it is the fifth manufacturer no-preheat position in this catalogue.

10 figures we could not establish

Each of these says WHY it is missing. “Not recorded by the sources consulted” means the manufacturer does not publish it in the document we read — not that nobody looked, and not that the figure does not exist.

Advertised capacity
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated in the instruction manual read.
Usable cooking area
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
Chamber
Not recorded by the sources consulted — The manual publishes installation and niche dimensions rather than cavity dimensions.
On the worktop
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Installation dimensions are published rather than appliance dimensions.
Weight
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published.
Power
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated in the instruction manual read.
Power range as published
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated in the copy read.
Adjusts in
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not stated.
Standby power
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not published by this manufacturer. Only one model in this catalogue publishes a standby figure at all.
Dishwasher safe
Not recorded by the sources consulted — Not enumerated for the air-fry accessory in the copy read.

What each setting actually does

Read from the manual. The marketing name is what is printed on the panel; the canonical capability is what the mode is in generic terms, so a reader can find advice written for somebody else’s appliance.

On the panelCanonicallyStarts atSettable rangePreheat
Air FryAir fryNo temperature setting30–260°CNo
Circulated air grillingGrillNo temperature setting30–260°CNot stated
Gentle hot airBakeNo temperature setting125–250°CNo
  • Air Fry: The manual publishes 30–300°C for this function. AirfryerHQ records the span capped at the 260°C ceiling its own measures model allows for this appliance class, and notes the manufacturer figure here rather than silently altering it.
  • Circulated air grilling: Published as 30–300°C. For roasting poultry, whole fish or larger pieces of meat; the grill element and fan alternate.
  • Gentle hot air: The mode used to determine the appliance’s energy efficiency class.

Error codes and display states

Only what this manufacturer publishes, and only for this manufacturer. A code means whatever the firmware author decided it means, and reading one across from another brand is the commonest way to misdiagnose a fault.

AirfryerHQ does not hold this code for this manufacturer. That is a statement about this catalogue and not about your appliance: most manufacturers publish no code table at all, and a code's meaning is specific to the firmware that produced it. Do not read a meaning across from another brand — check your own manual, and contact the manufacturer if it is not in there.

Cleaning this model

The parts this architecture has, what collects on each, and what its own manual permits. Full methods and prohibitions are on the cleaning pages.

Every part, what collects on it, how often it needs doing, and whether it may go in a dishwasher on the models AirfryerHQ holds manuals for.
PartWhat is on itHow oftenDishwasher
BasketOrdinary residue after cookingAfter every useDepends on your model — check the manual
Trays and bake pansBurnt-on residueAfter every useDepends on your model — check the manual
Interior of the chamberGreasy filmAfter every useNot removable, so the question does not arise
Interior of the chamberLingering smellWhen it needs itNot removable, so the question does not arise
Heating element areaCarbonised depositAbout monthlyNot removable, so the question does not arise
Fan and air intakeGreasy filmAbout monthlyNot removable, so the question does not arise
Viewing windowGreasy filmAbout weeklyNot removable, so the question does not arise
Exterior and bodyGreasy filmAbout weeklyNot removable, so the question does not arise
Controls and displayGreasy filmAbout weeklyNot removable, so the question does not arise

The manual instructs inserting an empty universal pan at level 1 beneath the Air Fry accessory at level 3, to catch dripping fat and protect the cavity floor.

Replaceable parts

AirfryerHQ holds no part records for Bosch built-in oven HBG934B.1 with Air Fry. That is a statement about this catalogue rather than about the appliance: every air fryer has a basket and most have a crisper plate, and the manual read for this model does not enumerate them in a way we could record. What can be replaced, and what to ask for covers the general case, including where to find the model number a parts desk will ask you for.

Accessories with something documented for this model

Statements read from this machine’s own documentation. AirfryerHQ does not infer that an accessory fits an appliance from its advertised capacity, and no manufacturer here publishes the dimensions that would let anybody do so.

  • Useful for a specific job

    Multi-level rack

    It adds a level. It does not add capacity, and one manufacturer states plainly that only one level may be used in air-fry mode.

Recall and safety status

Recall status not checked

No verified recall or safety notice is currently recorded in AirfryerHQ for this appliance. That is a statement about this catalogue and not about the product: AirfryerHQ holds a small number of checked alerts and is not a copy of the UK register. Check the authority's own register before concluding that an appliance is unaffected.

The Office for Product Safety and Standards publishes the UK register of product safety alerts, reports and recalls on GOV.UK, and Electrical Safety First operates a recall checker for electrical appliances. Registering an appliance with its manufacturer is what makes a direct notification possible.

AirfryerHQ has no recall data feed and has not checked. That is not a clean bill of health — it is an absence of checking, and it is recorded as one. Check the manufacturer’s own recall page and your national product-safety register.

Finding the manual

The Air Fry settings table gives no quantities on any row, which matters more here than elsewhere: a full-size cavity is where load size affects the result most, and this is the only oven chart in the catalogue.

About this model

The model that proves the product’s scope argument. Air Fry sits in this oven’s heating-type table alongside Gentle hot air and Circulated air grilling as a function in its own right, with a published temperature span, a dedicated Air-Fry accessory, a settings table and six operating rules. Several of those rules contradict what air-fryer content generally assumes, which is precisely why an oven belongs in this catalogue rather than outside it.

Owning this machine

The questions that come after the cooking.